Halloween and Lazy Kids

Well, Halloween has come and gone.  Grace went as a cheerleader.  A Carolina Panther’s cheerleader (which happens to be my favorite football team).  I left my digital camera at my grandmother’s house, but we should have pictures soon.  This Halloween was a lot like last Halloween.  We first made a trip to Jennifer’s grandmother’s house, then went by our church where there was trunk-or-treat.  We went into our church’s fellowship hall where they had some games for kids to play and everything was under dark lights.  The white on Grace’s outfit and her little pumpkin (which held her candy) were both glowing.  She was so cute.   We ended the night by going up to my grandmother’s house.  My grandma started a tradition of making dinner on Halloween a years ago.  It works out well because we are able to go out and do the trick-or-treating without having to worry about dinner.

When we got to my grandmother’s house, trick-or-treaters were still coming and going.  I couldn’t help but notice that more and more kids aren’t even making an effort to dress up as something.  When they don’t dress up, they just look like little kids coming up and begging for candy.  I think I would demand that any kid I give candy to must first tell me what they are dressed up as.  Yeah, I know.  I’ll make them cry.  But dang it, if I make the effort to go buy some candy, the kids can make an effort to dress up.  That’s the problem with kids these days.  They want the candy, but don’t want to work for it.

Another thing I decided is that I am going to start telling kids that I want the trick.  I doubt they even realize what they are saying when they come to the door.  They give me the choice of giving a treat, or them pulling a trick.  If I am expected to make good on the treat, they should be prepared make good on the trick.  Maybe it should be a reward system.  The better the trick, the more the candy.  Lame tricks: no candy.  Yeah, I like this idea.  It’ll be fun until the local pyro decides a good trick would be to burn my house down.  Ah, Kids.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

