Remember 9/11

I didn’t have time to post yesterday, but thought I would take a moment to remember September 11th. As with everyone else, the moment I found out is seared into memory. I was at college and in one of the computer labs. I believe I had gone there to surf the web and take it easy. When I sat down, I heard two guys talking about planes flying into buildings. I thought I heard them say something about the World Trade Center. With a lump in my throat, I went to cnn.com. The page took a very long time to load, and when it did, I was shocked by what I saw. The normal CNN home page wasn’t present. It had been replaced by a bland page with a few images of what was happening and a narrative of how the events had unfolded so far. It seemed unimaginable. From that point on, the bits and pieces of my day are less clear. I remember trying to reach Jennifer on the phone and also trying to reach my mom. I guess it was just natural that I wanted to talk to people about the events. I remember going home and watching the news coverage the rest of the day until my class that evening. I was pretty upset that class had not been canceled, but I set through it. Actually, I seem to remember being surprised by how many people DID show up for that class. I was pretty much glued to talk radio for the next few months. Since I was at the college almost all day, it was the best way to keep informed on what was going on.

Yesterday, on the way to work, I was once again listening to talk radio and they played a montage of audio clips from the day (and days following) September 11th. It was just audio recordings, but I still got choked up listening to what was played. I think it is important that we take time each year on September 11th to remember what happened that day.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

