Fun Weekend

This weekend we took a trip to Pennsylvania. We went up for my wife’s grandmother’s 75th birthday. First off, I need to get a minor detail out of the way. Jennifer’s grandmother goes by MamMam and her grandfather goes by PapPap. Apparently it is some sort of Pennsylvania thing. Anyway, there is rarely a dull moment when we go to visit MamMam and PapPap. We usually go there for a special occasions, so there is usually several people staying with her grandparents. This weekend my in-laws were both there along with my brother-in-law and his wife. It was a full house, but it ensured that things stayed interesting.

Saturday was the day of the birthday party. We had a cookout with hot dogs and hamburgers and then cake and ice cream. Afterwards, I played a Settlers of Catan marathon with my father-in-law, bother-in-law, and a few other family members. For those of you who don’t know, Catan is a board game that you must experience to appreciate. We played it from about 4:30 PM until around 10:30 PM. We also played one game before the party, so, in all, most of my waking hours on Saturday were spent playing this board game with my wife’s family. Not that I am complaining. It was a blast. Anyway, I made the mistake of saying to my father-in-law that morning, “I’ve gotten really good at this game.” Needless to say, I didn’t win a single game the whole day. In fact, I didn’t even come close to winning most of them. My father-in-law and brother-in-law didn’t win either, but they made sure that I did not forget my comment.

I became keenly aware that day that playing games with my bothers has influenced my playing. I do not play nice. I’ll admit it. I am ruthless. I do stuff that would probably tick some people off. I like to try and anticipate what other players will do so I can do it first and block them. Making the game difficult for others is often the strategy I use. As if that weren’t bad enough, the worst part is the sheer pleasure I get from stopping another player in their tracks. I’m sure they’re aware that I love doing it because I always get this stupid grin on my face whenever I do something I am even remotely proud of. It is pretty stupid the things I am proud of doing sometimes. I get the same stupid grin when I pick on my wife about not doing something that she told me to do that I actually did. I no longer get to take the pleasure in seeing her reach for the rolling pin because she always knows when I am teasing her, except of the rare occasion that I actually control my involuntary smiling spasm.

On Sunday, MamMam and PapPap agreed to watch Grace so Jennifer and I could go out. So, we went out to a new putt-putt place that was recently built a few miles up the road from their house. It was one of the more interesting courses I have seen. Water plays more of a role then most courses I have been to. The golf balls they use are designed to float. One hole had a narrow bridge going over a creek. If your ball went in the water, the creek took your ball down to the lower part of the hole. Also, several holes had places where your ball could easily go into the water, as there was no barrier keeping your ball from rolling in. There were nets hanging on the gates to fish your ball out of the water. I thought it was a lot of fun. Jennifer beat me. She made sure I didn’t forget that fact, proving once and for all that she is her father’s daughter. Regardless of my losing record, it was a great weekend.

1 comment so far

  1. Donna on

    Hey!!! I remember that sneaky little grin of yours. You always got that smiling spasm when you were up to no-good. It’s annoying as crap but endearingly cute.


Leave a Reply

